Greetings from the sunny West Midlands

This is the place to post items relating to Gordon and his music in a general sense, such as his influences, how he composes, which pieces you enjoy most and why etc.

Moderator: GORDON

Paganwolf

Greetings from the sunny West Midlands

Postby Paganwolf » Tue May 08, 2012 9:42 pm

I have been asked to do a brief introduction, but I'm a guitarist, we never do anything brief do we? :lol:
So, good evening, My name is Richard and I'm currently residing in that urban paradise known as Walsall, So.... where is that I hear you cry? well, either rattle up the M5, M6 and M40 until they all pretty much join up, look for the dazzling scenic beauty of the Birmingham skyline and keep going a tad, when you see the RAC building, hang a right and there you are.
So, why am I here? well, I think I'm having a renaiscance and an epiphany, Many years ago when I started listening to and playing guitar, I was drawn to Musicians like Gordon, Bert Jansch and John Martyn as i loved the way they could pcik and diversify notes to such a degree, It was only a matter of time before I discovered Rock music though and the Ubiquitous Marshall wall and my own Guitar of choice, the Flying V of which I have 5, two John Diggins 1958's, a Gibson 1967 Reissue and a Gibson 1958 reissue topped off with a Vintage Hamer flying V from the 80's, Not so long back I bought a Fender Strat with a Floyd and as part of the deal, there was an Ovation Encore which started to be used more and more until before long, I was spending more time playing the acoustic than the electrics, (plus there is the distinct advantage of not having to use a Transit to move everything) I have since added to the acoustic collection with an Ovation Nylon strung electro acoustic which is wonderful to play and my latest xmas pressie to myself, A Takamine 12 string as this is one are I feel ovation have not got it quite right as they sound just a bit weedy.