Acoustic guitar pickups

Here you can discuss details about instruments, equipment and all those other bits that non-musicians won't understand !

Moderator: GORDON

AndrewD

Acoustic guitar pickups

Postby AndrewD » Fri Dec 19, 2008 5:40 pm

My "trusty" Fender La Brea acoustic has an appallingly bad passive pickup (so passive it is lying on its back with its legs in the air) set underneath the saddle, and it is connected to two equally appalling tone and volume knobs. I want to replace it with something better but I have no experience of pickups so don't know where to begin.

I have read other earlier postings on pickups but was wondering whether there were any updated experiences to draw on.

I guess my initial questions are of manufacturers, where best to site the pickup (which probably depends on the pickup as much as anything else I suppose). I notice that some of Gordon's guitars have pickups placed across the sound hole. I have seen adverts for others that affix to the bridge and others that go inside attached to the underside of the top. Where to begin my friends? What are your experiences?

TimH

Postby TimH » Mon Dec 22, 2008 1:08 pm

Difficult to offer advice as the same pickup will sound different in different guitars as so much is dependent on the design and materials used in the manufacture of the guitar. I can comment from personal experience on 3 different acoustic pickups types: