Advice on basic guitar amps for self-taught beginner.

Here you can discuss details about instruments, equipment and all those other bits that non-musicians won't understand !

Moderator: GORDON

tony.hicks

Advice on basic guitar amps for self-taught beginner.

Postby tony.hicks » Sat Mar 29, 2008 4:41 pm

Claire (my 16 year old daughter) started teching herself the guitar about 18 months ago and last summer bought herself a Fender CD140SCE electro-acoustic (about £200). She often plays it as an acoustic but sometimes likes to "plug it in". As a temporary measure I've made up a cable so she can connect it to the disc input on my hi-fi but we have to use the magnetic input for sufficient sensitivity and therefore the equalisation is awful. Even turning the bass down to minimum she still gets feedback on the E-string.

She would like to get a proper guitar amplifier but we know very little about them. Should she just get a very basic 10W unit for about £50 to £70 or is that likely to be a waste of money (she's quite good at music and already has a grade 8 distinction for the Flute). A local music shop has suggested one of the Laney acoustic amps, I think it was the LA30C. Would that be a much better buy? Are there alternatives that are better value or produce a "better" sound?

She mainly wants something that sounds acurate and is good for an acoustic guitar, but knowing teenagers I'm sure she'd also like some "effects" as long as they don't detract from the quality of the basic system when they are switched off. At the moment she just wants it to use at home and school/college with small groups of friends, but if we could get something suitable for small performances without having to spend lots of money then so much the better.